The Big Shot in Christchurch proved two things on Friday evening -Tom Walsh is hard to beat and Dame Valerie Adams is on the improve.

The Athletics NZ International Series rolled though Christchurch for The Big Shot at the Retro Sports Facility in front of a big appreciative crowd.

New Zealand’s world champion shot putter Tom Walsh once again beat some of the best shot putters in the world with the next thrower still over a metre behind the 26 year old Cantabrian.

Walsh had three throws at 21.50m or better, with his biggest throw measured at 21.65m to again win handsomely.

O’Dayne Richards improved on his Timaru performance two days earlier to finish in second place with 20.61m. Tim Nedow from Canada finished in third on 20.50m to make it a Commonwealth trifecta for the three medallists from the 2014 Glasgow Games.

In the Women’s contest, Dame Valerie Adams started strongly with a season’s best 18.03m and led the competition at the conclusion of the fifth round.

Canada’s Brittany Crew, winner at the Timaru Super Shot, hit a winning 18.42m on her final throw and while Dame Valerie improved with the final put of the competition to 18.06, she could not close the gap.

Kiwi Victoria Owers, despite having four fouls in her six attempts, came in third with 16.80m in front of her home crowd.

The Big Shot was part of a series of pre-Commonwealth Games international events in Timaru, Christchurch, Auckland and Waitakere.

The Vertical Pursuit Pole Vault will be the next in the International Series this Sunday afternoon in Federal Street, Auckland, with the free event starting at 3:00pm.

The shot putters will next be in action in the final meet of the series, the Sir Graeme Douglas International Track Challenge at Douglas Track and Field in Waitakere on Sunday 25 March.

Big Shot Results


1                   Tom Walsh                                NZL                  21.65

2                   O’Dayne Richards                   JAM                 20.61

3                   Tim Nedow                               CAN                 20.50

4                   Ryan Whiting                            USA                 20.45

5                   Konrad Bukowiecki                POL                  20.39

6                   Damien Birkinhead                AUS                 19.86


1                   Brittany Crew                           CAN                 18.42

2                   Valerie Adams                         NZL                  18.06

3                   Victoria Owers                         NZL                  16.80

4                   Taryn Suttie                              CAN                 16.63

5                   Brittany Smith                          USA                 16.25

Via athletics New Zealand