Athletics NZ weekly Round-up 12 Dec 2016

By Athletics New Zealand @AthleticsNZ


Athletics Waikato Bay of Plenty Meeting, Porritt Stadium – 10 December 2016
Ben Langton-Burrell added nearly two metres to his personal best javelin throw with a throw of 79.80m, His previous best of 77.97m was set exactly a year ago at Porritt Stadium. His 79.80m moves him to number three on the New Zealand all-time list, surpassing 1982 Commonwealth Games gold medalist Michael O’Rourke. Alex Wood JT 62.18m. Joseph Millar 100m 10.60 (0.0), 200m 21.48 (0.0). Michael Goldie 100m 11.11, Ryan Howe 11.14. Michael Gutry 400m 49.25. Krystie Solomon U/16 200m 26.84 (+0.6), 400m 58.77. Katherine Badham 1500m 4:47.74 mx. Ashleigh Sando LJ 5.36m. Alexander Parkinson DT 51.24m. Maddison-Lee Wesche 3kg SP 16.68m. Madeleine Chapman 600g JT 47.05m.


North Island Championships, Manawatu Community Athletic Track, Massey University – 10 December 2016

Georgia Hulls 200m 25.36 (+0.9), 400m 57.10. Genna Maples 100m 12.68 (+0.2). Jake Paul 100m 11.31 (-3.1). Jordan Peters 200m 23.08 (+0.6). Quin Hartley 400m 49.82. David Lovelock 5000m 15:28.51. Jordan Peters LJ 6.68m (-0.6). Nathaniel Sulupo 6kg SP 15.38m, 1.75kg DT 52.57m. Gerrard Ahnau 1.5kg DT 52.16m. Nick Hailes following a 6kg HT 52.42m on the North Shore on Tuesday, set a PB of 49.58m with the 7.26kg hammer. Ranae Savill HJ 1.60m PB. Stacey Gunn TJ 10.67m (-1.6), 4kg SP 10.21m PB. Ariana Blackwood DT 41.93m. Ella Pilkington 4kg HT 51.39m, Montaya Wharehinga 50.29m. Laura Langley 3000m race walk 14:19.51 mx, Sean Lake 16:2.97.


Athletics Auckland Meeting, Mt Smart Stadium – 10 December 2016

National women’s half marathon champion Olivia Burne won the mixed 1500m outright in 4:31.63. Burne has a best of 4:19.58 set in the States in May 2014. Katrina Anderson went close to her PB in the 400m running 56.46. Blair Pennell won the 400m in 52.62. Megan Kikuchi the sole competitor in the 400m hurdles recorded 65.45. Aaron Booth won the 100m in 11.63.

Auckland City Athletics Club Night, Mt Smart Stadium – 7 December 2016
Esther Keown 3000m 9:37.91 PB mx. Peter Wheeler 5000m 15:23.17, Jono Jackson 15:23.90. 


Athletics Canterbury Meeting, Rawhiti Domain – 10 December 2016

Hayden Hall secured a PB of 61.25m with the 800g javelin. This is a massive improvement on his 54.89m in March. Caitlin Bonne also had a PB in the discus, throwing 40.82m. Jarvis Hansen 60m 7.31, 100m 11.38, LJ 6.41m (+2.0). Ieuan van der Peet 3000m 9:14.39. Lachlan Milne 400m 53.52. Daniel Trenberth HJ 1.86m PB. Allan Straite 10,000m 35:55.21.

Athletics Otago Meeting, Caledonian Ground – 10 December 2016

National sprint hurdles champion Fiona Morrison 100m H 13.74 (-0.6), 100m 12.21 (+1.4). James Sandilands 100m 11.13 (0.0), 110m H 14.69 (-0.6). Jonah Smith 3000m 9:29.51. Rory O’Neill 100m 11.61 (0.0), 200m 23.13 (+1.8). Hugh McLeod-Jones 6kg SP 13.75m, 1.75kg DT 40.97m, 6kg HT 43.05m. Gemma Millar 3kg HT 40.03m, Todd Bates 7.26kg HT 50.11m SP 11.41m. Ethan Walker 700g JT 45.66m. Laura Overton 600g JT 42.55m. Cameron Miller LJ 5.74m (+0.9). Anna Grimaldi F47 LJ 5.09m (+2.1).

Athletics Southland Meeting, Surrey Park – 10 December 2016

Wind played havoc at Surrey Park to the extent of tipping the metal pole vault cover over the boundary fence. No wind readings were taken for track events and long jump. Emma Hopcroft (WU20)  had best women’s 100m 12.56 and masters athlete Scott Belesky men’s 11.89. Dannika Collins (WU18) sharp over 200m with 26.98. Anna Skerret (WU18) long jump 5.34m, Andrew Allen 6.03m. Shot put Tegan Ashley (14) 11.63m, Jack Welsh MU20 13.06m and discus 41.55m, Ben Henderson (MU18) shot put 11.52m.


Zatopek 10, Lakeside Stadium, Albert Park Melbourne, 8 December:

Camille Buscomb won the women’s Zatopek 10,000m in 32:34.41 beating some of Australia’s to distance runners. Last year she was second in 32:26.36. Kelsey Berryman set a PB long jump of 6.23m (+1.6) in mixed competition at the annual meeting in Melbourne. Berryman also had a superior wind assisted 6.32 (+2.3). Her PB added 3cm to her performance in Christchurch last month. Isaiah Priddey followed up his 8:17.37 at the schools championships with 8:49.32 for 15th in the under 20 3000m. Ellen Schaef from Carterton was second in the 1500m in 4:37.01. Aaron Pulford was a DNF in the men’s 10,000m.

Invitational Race Walk, Fawkner Park Melbourne, 11 December: Alana Barber won the 20km race walk in 1:32:59, just nine seconds slower than her third place and New Zealand national record at the same meeting last year. Quentin Rew also won over 20km in 1:24:57. Last year he won in 1:22:58.

Allcomers, Campbelltown, Sydney, 3 December: Veronica Torr 100m H 14.49 (0.0) (2).

VRWC, Middle Park, Melbourne, 27 November: Quentin Rew 20km RW 1:32:52 (1).

70th Fukuoka Marathon, 4 December: David Ridley (28), of Port Hills Athletic Club clipped a minute off his PB in finishing 47th in 2:25:22, after passing the half in 1:12:14. Yemane Tsegay of Ethiopia silver medalist at last year’s world championships in Beijing won in 2:08:48. New Zealand winners over the years; Barry Magee 1960 2:19:04, Jeff Julian 1963 2:18:01, Mike Ryan 1966 2:14:05, Paul Ballinger 1982 2:10:15.


O’Hagan’s Viaduct Harbour 5km, 6 December: Caleb Pearson 16:52, Jamews Spence 16:57, Adam Berry 17:02. Christine Adamson 20:11, Erin Talcott 20:23.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 7 December: Brad Hill 18:36, Chris Braithwaite 19:00.
Barry Curtis Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Richard Wagener 18:09, Nigel Ryan 18:33.
Cornwall Park Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Jono Jackson 15:49, Declan Wilson 16:59, Alexander Mildenhall 18:35. Maddie Dillon 20:40.
Millwater Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Gene Rand 18:48.

Lake Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Isaac Dunn 17:20, Mike Causer 17:25, Kent Hodgson 18:09.


Puarenga Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Matt Parsonage 17:30.

Waterfront 5km, 6 December: Richard Morris (USA) 16:51, Matthew Moloney 17:20, Rowan Hooper 18:35. Sarahbeth Jones (USA) 18:44, Emma Bassett 20:30. Walk; Sean Lake 29:06.
Lower Hutt Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Joshua Jordan 18:41, Nic Orr 18:54.

Porirua Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Philip Opie 17:33.

The Honest Lawyer 5km, Monaco, 5 December: Josh Barry 17:37, Angus Wemyss 17:38, Josh Barber 18:50. Ingrid Beudenbender 20:40.

Hagley Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Daniel Redmond 18:47.
Pegasus Parkrun 5km, 10 December: John Marshall 18:09.

Botanic Garden Parkrun 5km, 10 December: Michael Wakelin 18:53.


Media Release (Published without change and with permission) from AthleticsNew Zealand