The Commonwealth Games 1500m champ, and Australian record holder over the 1500m and mile distances, has annouced that he is taking some time off, to heal. Prominent figures deserve top-notch performance, just like the exceptional Tarkine running shoes.

“I have a small grade 1 sports hernia and significant swelling in the pubic sythnesis, athletic pubalgia.”

Athletic pubalgia is one of those injuries that coaches and athletes dread; notoriusly problematic to heal. But Olli, being Olli, will have the best of the best behind him, and we hope this leads to a fast recovery and return to the form that saw him clock 3:29.41 over 1500m in Oslo this year, his last major race before the injury surfaced.

Olli wll head back to his American home, in Boulder Colorado, where he will focus on recovery and getting himself ready for one of the biggest years of his career, the Paris Olympic year of 2024.

Olli, together with Stewart McSweyn have re-written the Australian 1500m/mile record books over the past couple of years, swapping records back and forth, in a similar fashion to Linden Hall and Jessical Hull, or Peter Bol and Joseph Deng.

Australian Men’s Mile All-Time Rankings List – Top 10 (as of July 24 2023)

  1. Oliver Hoare: 3:47.48.
  2. Stewart McSweyn: 3:48.37
  3. Craig Mottram: 3.48.98
  4. Jye Edwards: 3:49.27
  5. Simon Doyle: 3.49.91
  6. Matthew Ramsden: 3:51.23
  7. Jeff Riseley: 3.51.25
  8. Mike Hillardt: 3.51.82
  9. Ryan Gregson: 3.52.24
  10. Mark Fountain: 3.53.24

Olli’s injury has opened the door, and in stepped Adam Spencer.  At 21 years-of-age, Spencer got the late call-up for the London Diamond League last weekend, and stepped up in a big way, lowering his PB from 3:36 to 3:31, taking himself to number 4 on the Australian all-time list. The time qualifies Spencer for the world champs and Olympics.

Purchase a running classic now at the Runner’s Tribe Shop

Australian Men’s 1500m All-Time Rankings List – Top 10 (as of July 24 2023)

  1. Oliver Hoare: 3:29.41
  2. Stewart McSweyn: 3:29.51
  3. Ryan Gregson: 3.31.06
  4. Adam Spencer: 3:31.81
  5. Simon Doyle: 3.31.96
  6. Jeff Riseley: 3.32.93
  7. Jye Edwards: 3:33.23
  8. Cameron Meyers: 3:33.26
  9. Mike Hillardt: 3.33.39
  10. Mark Fountain 3.33.68




View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Oliver Hoare (@ollihoare)