By Athletics New Zealand @AthleticsNZ


Colgate Games, Hawke’s Bay Regional Sports Park – 6-8 January 2017

Highlights from the three days of competition:
Boys 14; Dominic Overend winner of the 100m 11.78 (-3.7), 200m 22.73 (+2.1), 100m H 14.48 (-3.3), LJ 6.09m (+5.4) and anchored Waitakere to victory in the 4 x 100m relay 47.19. Liam Back 1500m 4:23.43.

Girls 14; Sofia Lome winner of the 100m 12.37 (+1.5), 200m 26.25 (-1.9), LJ 5.16m (-2.7). Briana Irving 800m 2:17.75. Charli Miller 1500m 4:39.38 and second in the 800m 2:18.17. Kaia Tupu-South SP 13.40m, DT 40.08m.
Boys 13; Dayman Shute winner of the 100m 11.73 (-3.8), 200m 23.38 (+1.5) and 400m 53.90. Finlay Seeds middle distance double 800m 2:06.90, 1500m 4:19.98. Liam White 80m hurdles 12.63 (-1.7) and LJ 5.66m (-1.7). 1600m RW Bradyn Popow 8:55.58.
Girls 13; Genna Maples winner of 100m 12.39 (+3.5), 200m 25.84 (-3.5), long jump 5.13m (+0.2). Joanna Poland 800m 2:22.24, 1500m 4:55.07. Krystie Solomon 400m 58.98 and second in the 1500m 5:00.48.
Boys 12; Charlie Roil 400m in 58.50 and 800m in 2:17.93. Bryn Curnow sprint double 100m 13.18 (-4.2), 200m 25.86 (+4.5). Salesi Foketi SP 12.48m. Ryan Jones 1200m RW 6:45.27. Mathijs Welzels 1500m 4:47.16. Oliver Wichman LJ 4.84m (+3.2).

Girls 12; Nadia Evans the sprint treble 100m 13.02 (+2.5), 200m 27.87 (-1.8) and 400m 63.20. Malia Seko LJ 4.47m (-0.8). Gerri Gibson 80m hurdles 15.30 (-2.8) and HJ 1.38m.

Boys 11; Alex Martin was outstanding winning the 400m 62.02, the 800m 2:23.51, the 1500m 4:50.84 and the high jump 1.38m. Daniel Williams sprint double 100m 13.05 (-4.1) and 200m 26.39 (+3.2). Percy Maka field event double SP 11.58m and DT 35.89m.
Girls 11; Jessica Honey the sprint treble 100m 13.27 (+1.9), 200m 27.71 (+0.2) and 400m 64.23. Maia Wilkinson 800m 2:30.63 and 1500m 5:10.89. Nadja Kumerich SP 9.81m and DT 27.48m. Zayyaan Smith LJ 5.12m (+3.7).
Boys 10; Three times New Zealand 100m champion James Dolphin’s son Joe won the 100m in 13.71 (-1.3). Va’a Tui took out the field event double SP 10.31m and DT 26.88m. Ryan Fleming 800m 2:31.38. 1200m RW Quinn Gardiner-Hall 7:42.26.
Girls 10; Micayla Whiti 100m 13.94 (+3.7) and 200m 29.33 (-1.2). Keira Rolston-Larking 800m 2:40.68 and 1500m 5:26.84. Suzannah Kennelly DT 32.19m. Talia van Rooyen LJ 4.16m (-3.0).


Lovelock Classic, Aorangi Stadium – 7 January 2017

Samuel Bremer took out the annual Lovelock mile in a PB 4:10.32. Daniel Balchin led for most of the race but was passed by Bremer with 200m remaining. Balchin was second in 4:11.23 PB with Ben Musson third in 4:12.75 PB.
Hannah Miller, national junior women’s 800m and 1500m silver medallist and national under 20 cross country champion ran a PB 3000m of 9:40.92 in a convincing win over Natalie Dryden who also recorded a PB of 10:27.68. Kelsey Berryman won the 100m in 11.94 (-0.4) but had three no jumps in the long jump. Fiona Morrison was second in the 100m in 12.09, won the 100m hurdles in 13.69 (+0.3) and the 200m in 24.77 (+0.8). Maia Broughton set a PB of 56.73 in the 400m. Anna Grimaldi was out to 5.22m (NWI) in the long jump and recorded 27.59 (+0.8) in the 200m. Tegan Duffy won the LJ 5.33m (-0.4). National champion Anna Percy won the 400m hurdles in 61.62. Lauren Bruce 1kg DT 44.06m PB, 4kg HT 52.07m. Christina Ryan 1kg DT 40.20m PB. Olivia Burnham 300m H 45.36.
Scott Walker 100m 10.93 (+0.4) and 200m 22.65 (+0.2). Jarvis Hansen was second on both occasions in 11.15 and 22.72. Cody Thomas 400m 51.16 and 110m hurdles 15.62 (-1.6). Tom Moulai 800m 1:55.21 from Steven Langdon 1:55.96. Oska Inkster-Baynes 3000m 8:34.95. Louis Andrews 300m hurdles 42.19. Daniel Trenberth HJ 1.90m PB. Jesse Bryant LJ 6.85m (-0.4). Jack Bryant 7.26kg SP 13.18m PB. Jack Welsh DT 41.49m PB also PB 7.26kg SP 12.55m. Fergus Speirs HT 49.38m PB.
A total of 123 athletes took part.


Twilight Meeting, Saxton Field Athletics Track – 6 January 2017
Katie Thompson 60m 8.83 (-6.3), LJ 5.18m (NWI), TJ 11.15m (NWI). Bailey Cotton 60m 7.73 (-4.3). Lee-Ann McKenzie HJ 1.60m. The medley relay was won by Team Petty with Angie Petty anchoring the team to victory running the last leg of 1600m in 4:50.50. Petty has a PB mile of 4:43.66.


Jetts Dash for Cash 400m, The Mall Pilot Bay – 7 January 2017

Elite; Joseph Millar 48.50, Samuel Tanner 51.40, Korban Eades 52.60. Katherine Camp 56.20, Amy Robinson 59.40, Hannah Matehaere 63.20. Originals; Duncan Cunningham 57.70. Laura Watkinson 63.50.


King and Queen of the Withers 10km Hill Race – January 2017

Sam Hansby 41:47, Stephen Blackwell 43:06, James Kuegler 45:16. Megan Craig 47:19, Anna Archie 52:41, Robyn Dean 55:29.

Media Release (Published without change and with permission) from AthleticsNew Zealand