Australians in the Asia/Pacific team for the IAAF Continental Cup in Ostrava

The IAAF Continental Cup is a two-day team event in the Czech Republic on 8 and 9 September, with 26 Australian athletes selected to the team.


  • 1500m Ryan Gregson (VIC, Nic Bideau)
  • 3000m Stewart McSweyn (TAS, Nic Bideau)
  • High Jump Brandon Starc (NSW, Alex Stewart)
  • Pole Vault Kurtis Marschall (SA, Alex Parnov)
  • Long Jump Henry Frayne (QLD, Gary Bourne)
  • Shot Put Damien Birkinhead (VIC, Scott Martin)
  • Discus Throw Matthew Denny (QLD, Grahame Pitt),
  • 4x100m Trae Williams (QLD, Daniel Williams), Jake Doran (QLD, Paul Di Bella), Jin Su Jung (NSW, Andrew Murphy), Aaron Bresland (WA, Dane Richter )
  • 4x400m Mixed Steven Solomon (NSW, Iryna Dvoskina), Murray Goodwin (QLD, Brett Robinson), Joshua Ralph (VIC, Phil Moore).


  • 800m Brittany McGowan (QLD, James Kaan)
  • 1500m Linden Hall (VIC, Bruce Scriven)
  • 3000m Genevieve LaCaze (QLD, Nic Bideau)
  • 100m hurdles Michelle Jenneke (NSW, Ash Mahoney)
  • High Jump Nicola McDermott (NSW, Matt Horsnell)
  • Pole Vault Lisa Campbell (QLD, Ray Boyd)
  • Long Jump Brooke Stratton (VIC, Russell Stratton)
  • Discus Throw Dani Stevens (NSW, Denis Knowles)
  • Hammer Throw Alexandra Hulley (NSW, Bre Clement & Karyne DiMarco)
  • Javelin Throw Kelsey Barber (nee Roberts) (ACT, Mike Barber)
  • 4x400m Mixed Anneliese Rubie (NSW, Peter Fortune), Ella Connolly (QLD, Gary Patterson)

Read the article by Athletics Australia: