Geoffrey Kamworor, Joyciline Jepkosgei, Daniel Romanchuk, and Manuela Schär Win 2019 TCS New York City Marathon Titles.

New York, November 3, 2019 – Geoffrey Kamworor won his second event title and Joyciline Jepkosgei won in her marathon debut as the Kenyans swept the open division at the TCS New York City Marathon on Sunday. The United States’ Daniel Romanchuk, just 21 years old, won his second consecutive title and Switzerland’s Manuela Schär captured her third consecutive title in the wheelchair division.

Kamworor, the half-marathon world-record holder, clocked a 2:08:13 to take his second TCS New York City Marathon title in three years. The 26-year-old has now made the podium in all four of his TCS New York City Marathon appearances.

“From the start of the race, I was feeling okay,” Kamworor said. “I was comfortable. I prepared very well to run this marathon. Throughout the last few meters, the pace was somewhat high, and it wasn’t a problem for me. That’s when I decided to pull away.”

Kenya’s Albert Korir took second placed in 2:08:36, followed by Ethiopia’s Girma Bekele Gebre in third in 2:08:38. U.S. Olympian Jared Ward finished as the top American, taking sixth in 2:10:45.

Jepkosgei recorded the second-fastest time ever in the women’s open’s division in New York City Marathon history, finishing in 2:22:38 in her marathon debut. The half-marathon world-record holder’s time was also the fastest ever by a woman making her New York City Marathon debut.

“My strategy I had planned was to finish the race strong,” Jepkosgei said. “But in the last kilometers, I saw that I was approaching the finish line and I was capable of winning.”

Four-time TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany of Kenya was second in 2:23:32, followed by Ethiopia’s Ruti Aga in 2:25:51, who was making her TCS New York City Marathon debut. Two-time U.S. Olympian Des Linden was the top American finisher, taking sixth in 2:26:46.

Earlier in the day Romanchuk won his second consecutive event title in 1:37:24, crossing the line first ahead of pack that included Switzerland’s Marcel Hug, Great Britain’s David Weir and the United States’ Aaron Pike. Romanchuk had already won titles this year in Boston, London and Chicago.

“The first few miles were relatively fast, but as it got later in the race, there were just more and more people catching up and making a bigger group, and then things got a little bit more tactical,” Romanchuk said. “It was a very tight finish. A group of four, my teammate Aaron Pike, Marcel Hug, and then David Weir as well.”

Hug, a three-time event champion, crossed the line second in 1:37:25, followed by 2010 champion Weir in third in 1:37:28.

Schär’s win marked her ninth consecutive Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory and her time was the second-fastest ever in New York City Marathon history.

“I’m always trying to pull away and go for a fast time,” Schär said. “It’s been incredible the last 12 months, and it’s still going on. It’s just — I don’t know. I’m speechless.”

Americans Tatyana McFadden and Susannah Scaroni took second and third, respectively, in 1:48:19 and 1:51:37.

The TCS New York City Marathon is part of the Abbott World Marathon Majors, a series made up of the world’s six largest and most renowned road races – the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, Bank of America Chicago, and TCS New York City Marathons. Points are allocated to the top five finishers in each race, with the top three men’s and women’s finishers in both the open and wheelchair divisions earning prize money.