Desisa and Keitany clock second-fastest times in history, while Romanchuk becomes first-ever American and youngest athlete to win men’s wheelchair division.                             

New York, November 4, 2018 – Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa won his first TCS New York City Marathon and Mary Keitany won her fourth – both recording the second fastest times in history in the open division for men and women, respectively. At 20 years old, Daniel Romanchuk became the first-ever American and youngest athlete to win the men’s wheelchair division at the TCS New York City Marathon, while Switzerland’s Manuela Schär won her second consecutive title in the women’s wheelchair division.

Desisa held off fellow Ethiopian, 22-year-old Shura Kitata, by two hundredths of a second to finish in 2:05:59. It was his first victory in New York and fourth podium appearance. He already had two Boston Marathon titles to his name.

“This is my dream to be champion in New York,” Desisa said. “I’ve participated here four times, and I’ve tried very hard to become the champion.”

Kitata was second in 2:06:01 – his second runner-up appearance in an Abbott World Marathon Majors race this year – and last year’s champion Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya was third in 2:06.26.

Keitany became the second woman to win in New York four times, recording the second-fastest time ever in event history with a 2:22:48. It was her fourth win in five years, and she’s now the only woman other than Grete Waitz to win the event four times. Her training partner, Vivian Cheruiyot, was second 2:26:02.

“I was able to run a very nice race,” Keitany said. “I was just thinking of trying to win, but not actually the course record. But I came to see that I missed just by 70 seconds. But for me, winning was the most important.”

Last year’s champion Shalane Flanagan was the first of four American women to finish in the top seven, placing third in 2:26:22, which was 31 seconds faster than last year. Molly Huddle was fourth in 2:26:44 – a personal best in her third career marathon – while this year’s Boston Marathon champion Des Linden was sixth in 2:27:51. Allie Kieffer recorded her second consecutive top-10 finish in the event in 2:28:12 to take seventh.

Earlier in the day, Romanchuk broke the tape in the men’s wheelchair division in 1:36:21. It marked his second Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory, coming less than a month after he won the Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

“It’s an amazing experience to be able to win two major marathons in a row,” Romanchuk said. “It still hasn’t sunk in yet.”

Switzerland’s Marcel Hug, a three-time winner in New York City, fell short of defending his title, finishing second in 1:36:22. Great Britain’s David Weir, racing the event for the first time since winning in 2010, was third in 1:36:23.

Schär became just the fourth women’s wheelchair athlete to win back-to-back titles, claiming her second consecutive title at the TCS New York City Marathon in 1:50:27. It marked her third consecutive Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory in Series XII, having already won in Berlin in September and in Chicago in October.

“I just gave everything I had left for that pretty little downhill in the park, and I was actually finally able to get away a little bit,” Schär “I still can’t believe it was enough.”

Five-time race winner and NYRR Team for Kids Ambassador Tatyana McFadden was second in 1:50:48, and the reigning Paralympic marathon champion Zou Lihong of China was third in 1:56:14.

Romanchuk and McFadden both earned bonus points on the Abbott World Marathon Majors leaderboard by being the first wheelchair athletes to pass the 20K mark – part of the new bonus points sprint competition for Series XII.

The TCS New York City Marathon is part of the Abbott World Marathon Majors, a series made up of the world’s six largest and most renowned road races – the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, Bank of America Chicago, and TCS New York City Marathons. Points are allocated to the top five finishers in each race, with the top three men’s and women’s finishers in both the open and wheelchair divisions earning prize money.


1 3 Lelisa Desisa 2:05:59 Ethiopia ETH
2 2 Shura Kitata 2:06:01 Ethiopia ETH
3 1 Geoffrey Kamworor 2:06:26 Kenya KEN
4 4 Tamirat Tola 2:08:30 Ethiopia ETH
5 5 Daniel Wanjiru 2:10:21 Kenya KEN
6 15 Jared Ward 2:12:24 UT United States USA
7 18 Scott Fauble 2:12:28 AZ United States USA
8 6 Festus Talam 2:12:40 Kenya KEN
9 11 Shadrack Biwott 2:12:52 CA United States USA
10 19 Chris Derrick 2:13:08 OR United States USA
11 9 Juan Luis Barrios 2:13:55 Mexico MEX
12 443 Tadesse Yae Dabi 2:13:57 NY United States ETH
13 12 Tim Ritchie 2:15:22 MA United States USA
14 16 Ryan Vail 2:15:31 OR United States USA
15 21 Jonny Mellor 2:16:09 United Kingdom GBR
16 28 Harbert Okuti 2:16:51 NY United States UGA
17 17 Scott Smith 2:17:12 AZ United States USA
18 10 Bernard Lagat 2:17:20 AZ United States USA
19 440 Girma Bekele Gebre 2:18:18 NY United States ETH
20 27 Birhanu Dare Kemal 2:18:20 NY United States ETH



1 102 Mary Keitany 2:22:48 Kenya KEN
2 104 Vivian Cheruiyot 2:26:02 Kenya KEN
3 101 Shalane Flanagan 2:26:22 OR United States USA
4 106 Molly Huddle 2:26:44 RI United States USA
5 110 Rahma Tusa 2:27:13 Ethiopia ETH
6 105 Desiree Linden 2:27:51 MI United States USA
7 107 Allie Kieffer 2:28:12 NY United States USA
8 115 Lisa Weightman 2:29:11 Australia AUS
9 103 Mamitu Daska 2:30:31 NM United States ETH
10 130 Belaynesh Fikadu 2:30:47 NY United States ETH
11 113 Stephanie Bruce 2:30:59 AZ United States USA
12 116 Roberta Groner 2:31:01 NJ United States USA
13 123 Gerda Steyn 2:31:04 South Africa RSA
14 117 Carrie Dimoff 2:31:12 OR United States USA
15 119 Samantha Bluske 2:32:04 AL United States USA
16 124 Sydney Devore 2:32:43 MI United States USA
17 128 Brittany Charboneau 2:36:35 CO United States USA
18 122 Sarah Sellers 2:36:37 AZ United States USA
19 487 Eva Almkvist 2:36:48 Sweden SWE
20 536 Lydia O’Donnell 2:40:52 New Zealand NZL


About the TCS New York City Marathon

The TCS New York City Marathon is the largest marathon in the world and the signature event of New York Road Runners (NYRR), the world’s premier community running organization. The race is held annually on the first Sunday of November and includes over 50,000 runners, from the world’s top professional athletes to runners of all ages and abilities, including over 9,000 charity runners. Participants from approximately 140 countries tour the diverse neighborhoods of New York City’s five boroughs—Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx, and Manhattan. Race morning also features the Rising New York Road Runners Youth Invitational at the TCS New York City Marathon, a race within Central Park that finishes at the same finish line being crossed hours later by the marathon field. More than one million spectators and 10,000 volunteers line the city’s streets in support of the runners, while millions more watch the globally televised broadcast. Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), a leading global IT services, consulting, and business solutions organization, is the premier partner of NYRR and the title sponsor of the TCS New York City Marathon. The 48th running of the TCS New York City Marathon is set for November 4, 2018. To learn more,