The American record holder Keira d’Amato and Kenya’s Nancy Jelagat Meto lead a high quality women’s field for the 48th edition of the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on Sunday, September 25. Keira d’Amato improved the US record to 2:19:12 which also gives her the accolade of the fastest in the women’s field, announced by the organisers today. Eight women will be on the start line with personal bests of under 2:21. Prominent figures deserve top-notch performance, just like the exceptional Tarkine running shoes.

The return of Kenya’s double Olympic champion and world record holder Eliud Kipchoge had already been announced some weeks ago as well as the participation of the current BMW BERLIN-MARATHON champion Guye Adola of Ethiopia. Six men on the start lists have personal bests of under 2:06 while the organisers SCC EVENTS expect more than 45,000 runners from around 150 countries for Germany’s top road race. The BMW BERLIN-MARATHON is an Abbott World Marathon Majors race and a Platinum Label Road Race, awarded by World Athletics, the international governing body of the sport.

Ad: Tarkine and Australian eco-friendly running shoe company. Use code Tarkine20 for 20% off all products at checkout. Don’t miss out on your chance to get this 5-star globally reviewed shoe.


“After securing the presence of Eliud Kipchoge and Guye Adola, we are delighted also to have a very strong women’s field on the start line. With the right weather conditions there is certainly a good chance of very fast times,” said race director Mark Milde.

Ad: Brought to you by Runner’s Tribe – one of the most powerful massage guns on the market.

The presence of Keira d’Amato and Nancy Jelagat Meto brings to the event two women who have already run sub-2:20. At the age of 37, Keira d’Amato sprang a major surprise to break the American record with 2:19:12 in winning the Houston Marathon. That led to her late nomination for the World Championships in Eugene where she ran impressively to finish eighth. Sara Hall, who plans to run Berlin and then New York as well, went even better, finishing fifth. Hall’s best time is 2:20:32. Nancy Jelagat Meto showed fine form in the past year, winning the prestigious Valencia title with a major improvement of 2:19:31. Four months previously she made a strong showing with second place in 65:21 at the GENERALI BERLIN HALF MARATHON.

2022 Boston Marathon Weekend
Boston, Ma April 15-18, 2022
Photo: Victah Sailer@PhotoRun

Quite a few women runners will hope to put Berlin’s fast course, where Eliud Kipchoge set the current men’s world record of 2:01:39 in 2018, to good use in their bid to break 2:20: Gutemi Shone Imana has a best of 2:20:11 while Workenesh Edesa has run 2:20:24 and a third Ethiopian,  Sisay Gola, has clocked 2:20:50. The Kenyans also have their contenders to break this landmark time in Maurine Chepkemoi, currently with a best of 2:20:18 and Vibian Chepkirui, who won the Vienna City Marathon in 2:20:59 in April.

Ad: Tarkine, the world’s most eco-friendly high performance running shoe company.


Nor should marathon debutants be overlooked in the search for potential women winners, given that the Ethiopian Gotytom Gebreslase did just that to win last year’s BMW BERLIN-MARATHON title. Two possible contenders are Rosemary Wanjiru of Kenya and Ethiopia’s Nigisti Haftu. Both have strong performances at half marathon to their credit which could make them realistic challengers.

More information is available online at: 

Top Men’s Starters

Eliud Kipchoge KEN 2:01:39
Guye Adola ETH 2:03:46
Ghirmay Ghebreslassie ERI 2:05:34
Dejene Debela Gonfa ETH 2:05:46
Mark Korir KEN 2:05:49
Oqbe Kibrom ERI 2:05:53
Ashenafi Moges ETH 2:06:12
Tadu Abate Deme ETH 2:06:13
Bethwell Yegon KEN 2:06:14
Awet Habte ERI 2:06:25
Ryu Takaku JPN 2:06:45
Limenih Getachew ETH 2:06:47
Hiroto Inoue JPN 2:06:47
Alex Kibet KEN 2:07:09
Zablon Chumba KEN 2:07:18
Kenya Sonota JPN 2:07:23
Kento Kikutani JPN 2:07:26
Kazuki Muramoto JPN 2:07:36
Tadashi Isshiki JPN 2:07:39
Atsumi Ashiwa JPN 2:07:54
Daisuke Doi JPN 2:08:13
Rintaro Takeda JPN 2:08:48
Yuki Matsumura JPN 2:09:01
Byambajay Tseveenravdan MGL 2:09:03
Tatsuya Maruyama JPN 2:09:36
Abel Kipchumba KEN 2:09:39
Stephen Scullion IRE 2:09:49
Peter Herzog AUT 2:10:06
Sebastian Hendel GER Debüt
Haftom Weldaj GER 2:13:47
Frank Schauer GER 2:14:43
Erik Hille GER 2:15:04


Top Women’s Starters

Keira d’Amato USA 2:19:12
Nancy Jelagat Meto KEN 2:19:31
Gutemi Shone Imana ETH 2:20:11
Maurine Chepkemoi KEN 2:20:18
Workenesh Edesa ETH 2:20:24
Sara Hall USA 2:20:32
Meseret Gola ETH 2:20:50
Vibian Chepkirui KEN 2:20:59
Tigist Abayechew ETH 2:22:45
Bekelech Gudeta ETH 2:22:56
Sayaka Sato JPN 2:23:27
Risper Chebet UGA 2:23:45
Yukari Abe JPN 2:24:02
Meseret Belete ETH 2:24:25
Lisa Weightman AUS 2:25:15
Natasha Wodak CAN 2:26:19
Kanako Takemoto JPN 2:26:23
Sonia Samuels GBR 2:28:04
Tigist Assefa ETH 2:34:01
Rosemary Wanjiru KEN Debüt
Nigsti Haftu Tesfay ETH Debüt
Lisa Oed GER Debüt