Tauranga sprinter Joseph Millar lived up to expectations, running the quickest ever NZ 100m championhsips race, blasting to a time of 10.18, a fresh New Zealand resident record, on Day 1 at the Jennian Homes NZ Track & Field Championships in Hamilton.

The time, although outside the qualifying standard of 10.12 for the IAAF World Championships in August, was very impressive and took 0.09 off the old resident record held by Chris Donaldson.

Millar led a  Waikato Bay of Plenty trifecta with fellow Tauranga runner Kodi Harman, winner of the title in 2015 finishing second in 10.59 and Hamilton hurdler Cam French third in 10.72.

The women’s 100m title went to Zoe Hobbs from Auckland in a quick 11.57 into a slight head wind, just slower than her NZ Under 19 record of 11.53 set at last year’s World Under 20 championships. Second was Kelsey Berryman in 11.93and defending champion Rochelle Coster third with 12.01.

Canterbury distance runner Daniel Balchin won the men’s 5000m title in 14:15.88 ahead of Aaron Pulford and Ryan Sissons, while the women’s race was won by Hawkes Bay’s Laura Nagel in 16:04:45 from Olivia Burne and Jean Kozyniak.

Defending champion Siositina Hakeai and fellow Aucklander Te Rina Keenan provided one of the closest finishes of the day in the women’s discus. Hakeai grabbed the lead in the second round and held it until Keenan threw 55.50, 56.06 and 56.21 with her final three attempts. Hakeai could only respond with 55.04 and her run of national titles was at an end.

Marshall Hall (Southland) secured his eighth national discus title in still, unhelpful conditions, throwing 55.11m, while Matt Bloxham made it three men’s hammer titles in a row, winning with 59.81m.

The championships continue for another two days in Hamilton.


Senior Men

100m: Joseph Millar (WaikBoP) 10.18s (NZ resident record) 1, Kodi Harman (WaikBoP) 10.59s 2, Cameron French (WaikBoP) 10.72s 3.

5000m: Daniel Balchin (Cant) 14m 15.88s 1, Aaron Pulford (WaikBoP) 14m 17.85s 2, Ryan Sissons (Akld) 14m 19.81s 3.

3000m race walk: David Smyth (Aust) 15m 46.28s 1.

Discus throw: Marshall Hall (Sthld) 55.11m 1, Alexander Parkinson (Akld) 52.95m 2, Nathaniel Sulupo (Wgtn) 49.82m 3.

Hammer throw: Matthew Bloxham (Akld) 59.81m 1, Warren Button (WaikBoP) 56.83m 2, Todd Bates (Otago) 53.96m 3.

Under 20 Men:

100m: Nick Smith (Wgtn) 11.13s 1, Kamal Patwalia (Akld) 11.13s 2, Ethan Holman (WaikBoP) 11.24s 3.

5000m: Jared Lautenslager (Tasman) 14m 43.71s 1, Oli Chignell (Otago) 14m 47.47s 2, Mitchell Small (Cant) 14m 49.91s 3.

Hammer throw: Anthony Nobilo (Akld) 59.46m 1, Nick Hailes (Akld) 52.36m 2, Hugh McLeod-Jones (Otago) 50.88m 3.

Long jump: Thomas Rawstron (WaikBoP) 7.13m 1, Christopher Goodwin (WaikBoP) 7.10m 2, Felix McDonald (Otago) 6.90m 3.

High jump: Goodwin 1.96m 1, Tevita Finau (WaikBoP) 1.86m 2, Teaue Teihotaata (Tahiti) 1.86m 3, McDonald 1.76m 4.

Under 18 Men:

100m: James Guthrie-Croft (Akld) 11.12s 1, Tapasu Paea (Akld) 11.25s 2, George Kozlov (Akld) 11.39s 3.

3000m: Isaiah Priddey (WaikBoP) 8m 27.73s 1, Samuel Tanner (WaikBoP) 8m 31.92s 2, Kalani Sheridan (Tasman) 8m 35.40s 3.

3000m race walk: Bradyn Popow (Mantu/Wang) 16m 35.31s 1.

Discus throw: Connor Bell (Akld) 60.47m 1, Hamish Mears (Otago) 45.13m 2, Nikolas Kini (Nthld) 43.24m 3.

Long jump: Nic Forster (Cant) 6.67m 1, Cody House (Cant) 6.66m 2, Cameron Miller (Otago) 6.59m 3.

Senior Women

100m: Zoe Hobbs (Akld) 11.57s 1, Kelsey Berryman (Cant) 11.93s 2, Rochelle Coster (Akld) 12.01s 3.

5000m: Laura Nagel (HBG) 16m 4.45s 1, Olivia Burne (Akld) 16m 24.79s 2, Jean Kozyniak (Wgtn) 17m 24.34s 3.

3000m race walk: Laura Langley (HBG) 13m 36.76s 1, Rozie Robinson (Cant) 13m 59.29s 2, Erin Talcott (USA) 14m 6.97s 3, Corinne Smith (Nthld) 15m 14.78s 4.

Discus throw: Te Rina Keenan (Akld) 56.51m 1, Siositina Hakeai (Akld) 55.04m 2, Lauren Bruce (Cant) 45.77m 3.

Under 20 Women:

100m: Lucy Sheat (Tasman) 11.96s 1, Georgia Hulls (HBG) 11.97s 2, Emma Hopcroft (Sthld) 12.57s 3.

5000m: Phoebe McKnight (Wgtn) 16m 28.43s 1, Sammy Burke (Otago) 17m 16.46s 2, Katherine Badham (Akld) 17m 19.59s 3.

Shot put: Maddison-Lee Wesche 15.13m 1, Mellata Tatola (Akld) 13.02m 2, Emma Ryan (Sthld) 11.82m 3.

Javelin throw: Vaimiti Marii (Tahiti) 41.29m 1, Caitlin Bonne (Cant) 36.80m 2, Sofia Hewitt (Akld) 35.11m 3.

Long jump: Hopcroft 5.79m 1, Ashleigh Bennett (Taranaki) 5.75m 2, Atipa Mabonga (Sthld) 5.71m 3.

Under 18 Women:

100m: Maia Broughton (Cant) 12.49s 1, Sofia Lome (Akld) 12.49s 2, Leah Belfield (WaikBoP) 12.61s 3.

3000m: Hannah O’Connor (Taranaki) 9m 30.74s 1, McKnight 9m 38.49s 2, Charli Miller (WaikBoP) 9m 48.03s 3.

3000m race walk: Hannah Gilberd (Taranaki) 17m 17.16s 1, Laura Kehely (Taranaki) 17m 30.94s 2.

Javelin throw: Bonne 41.66m 1, Marii 41.12m 2, Savannah Scheen (Akld) 39.33m 3, Tanya Murray (Akld) 38.63m 4.

High jump: Olivia Burnham (Cant) 1.66m 1, Imogen Skelton (Wgtn) 1.66m 2, Sofia Utting (Akld) 1.66m 3.

Pole vault: Olivia McTaggart (Akld) 4.25m 1, Imogen Ayris (Akld) 3.81m 2, Kazaya Vos (Akld) 3.16m 3.


Para athletes


100m: Lachlan Foote (Aust) 12.22s 1, Ethan Rangi (Akld) 12.78s 2, Keegan Pitcher (Akld) 13.55s 3.

800m: William Stedman (Cant) 2m 11.68s 1, Pitcher 2m 12.02s 2, Sunil Fernandez-Ritchie (WaikBoP) 2m 18.04s 3.

Discus throw: Jaydon Ahi-Perez (Akld) 35.37m 1, Jack Lewer (Mantu/Wang) 28.78m 2, Aodhan Hamilton (WaikBoP) 25.58m 3.


100m: Libby Leikis (Wgtn) 16.25s 1, Anna Steven (NHB) 16.46s 2.

Shot put: Tamara Gotty (Akld) 6.56m 1, Amy Dunn (WaiokBoP) 4.10m 2.

Javelin throw: Holly Robinson (Otago) 42.54m 1, Caitlin Dore (Otago) 22.00m 2, Gotty 12.41m 3.

Long jump: Anna Grimaldi (Otago) 5.38m 1, Anna Steven (NHB) 3.35m 2.

Full Results


Media Release – Athletics New Zealand @AthleticsNZ