2017 IAAF World Track & Field Championships – Initial Team Announcement

Athletics New Zealand has named the first group of athletes for the 2017 IAAF World Track & Field Championships in London. The championships will be held in the London Olympic Stadium on 4 – 13 August.

The six athletes named include 2016 Rio Olympic bronze medallists Tom Walsh and Eliza McCartney, New Zealand 10,000 record holder Zane Robertson and summer sprint sensation Joseph Millar.

The athletes named in the first group have satisfied the selectors that they have reached the criteria set down in the Athletics New Zealand Selection Policy.

Jacko Gill                   Auckland         Shot Put

Eliza McCartney         Auckland         Pole Vault

Joseph Millar            Waikato BOP   200m

Tom Walsh                Canterbury      Shot Put

Quentin Rew             Wellington      50km Race Walk

Zane Robertson          Waikato BOP   10,000m

Further athletes will be added to the team ahead of the final announcement which will be published on 26 July 2017.

The Team Leader for the World Championships will be Scott Goodman. Additional Team Management personnel will be appointed shortly.

Athletics New Zealand