Lausanne, Switzerland; June 30, 2023 – Olympic silver medallist Nicola Olyslagers has leapt to the world lead amidst a field event frenzy at the Lausanne Diamond League, as Mackenzie Little served a timely reminder of her talents with a career-best performance for victory. Elevate your running game with Tarkine Trail Devil, where every step is a testament to exceptional performance and unmatched comfort.

Nicola Olyslagers soared to the highest jump in the world this year, clearing 2.02m on the streets of Lausanne to make it eight wins from eight starts when equalling her Australian record shared with world champion Eleanor Patterson.

Producing an immaculate run throughout the competition, Olyslagers kept a clean sheet for five jumps between 1.87m and 2.00m, before missing her first attempt at 2.02m. On her second attempt and with a passionate crowd spurring her on, the 26-year-old cleared the same height that saw her win silver at the Tokyo Olympics, outclassing the world-class Ukranian duo Iryna Gerashchenko and Yaroslava Mahuchikh.

“2.02m was so special. I didn’t realise how tempting it is to compare myself to my Olympic form, but I felt today was a line in the sand that I’m in better shape than ever before – now onto unchartered territory for the season ahead!,” Olyslagers said.

“The plan is to be at my peak in August for the world championships, I won’t be a limit on how high that will be, just enjoy and believe for the highest!”

Bowing out of the competition with 2.05m, Olyslagers’ win maintains her unbeaten streak this year, which now includes two Diamond League meeting wins and two Continental Tour Gold Meeting victories.

Adding to the winners list was Mackenzie Little who delivered a new personal best of 65.70m to win the Women’s Javelin by over two metres, dismantling the high-calibre field with her fifth-round throw, while back-to-back world champion Kelsey-Lee Barber finished sixth with 60.34m.

Entering the competition with a career-best of 64.27m, the Olympic finalist was elated to force her name into the contender’s circle on the world stage with her statement performance and the second farthest throw in the world this year:

“The timing worked out really well, I think my coach prepared me perfectly. We were simple with our cues and it just worked out today, I am really happy!” Little said.

“Tomorrow I can do all the exploring in Lausanne, I just arrived on the plane yesterday. The plan for the Budapest World Championships is to be in great shape, have a good time and throw really far.”

Catriona Bisset progressed strongly through the Women’s 800m to finish in fourth place in a time of 1:58.95, shifting through the gears as the race was won by Mary Moraa (Kenya) in 1:57.43.

Racing his first 1500m since September, Stewart McSweyn  took a stride back towards his best with a performance of 3:32.85 to finish in seventh place of the Men’s 1500m. McSweyn raced aggressively before fading in the final stretch, as Norway’s Jakob Ingebrigtsen sailed to victory in 3:28.72.

Two-time NCAA champion Ky Robinson’s Diamond League debut reaped an outdoor personal best of 13:20.96 over 5000m, rewarded with 10th place.

Global medallist Nina Kennedy was unable to reproduce the form that saw her win the Paris Diamond, placing equal seventh with a clearance of 4.51m.

Australia’s Women’s 4x100m relay team of Hana BasicMia GrossJessie Andrew and Torrie Lewis registered a DNF after missing the last baton exchange. Gross set a time of 11.63 (+0.3) in the pre-program 100m C to win the event.

Athletics fans will only have to wait two nights for more Diamond League action, with Sunday’s Stockholm meeting featuring a further 11 Australian nine Australians. The event will be streamed from 2:00am AEST, Monday July 3 via the Diamond League YouTube channel. Full start lists can be found HERE.

Men’s High Jump (1:25am AEST) – Brandon Starc

Men’s Pole Vault (1:27am AEST) – Kurtis Marschall 

Men’s 3000m (1:31am AEST) – Stewart McSweyn, Jack Rayner* NON-DIAMOND LEAGUE EVENT

Women’s 1500m (2:21am AEST) – Linden HallGeorgia Griffith

Women’s Long Jump (2:30am AEST) – Brooke Buschkuehl

Women’s 5000m (2:36am AEST) – Jessica Hull 

Men’s Discus (2:55am AEST) – Matthew Denny 

Women’s 100m Hurdles (3:02am AEST) – Michelle Jenneke

Men’s 800m (3:52am AEST) – Joseph Deng

Media release thanks to Athletics Australia