February the 16th 2019 – The previous record of 3.31.18 was set by Hicham El Guerrouj back in 1997.

Tefera charged towards the line and stopped the clock at 3:31.04, taking 0.14 off the previous record set by Hicham El Guerrouj in 1997.

Kejelcha finished second in an outright personal best of 3:31.58.

Australia’s Stewart McSweyn finished 3rd clocking in 3:35.10 for a new Australian National indoor record.