With the IAAF World Championships set to burst out of the blocks for the 16th time next Saturday 4 August for ten days of scintillating action, the athletes are fine tuning their final preparations for the premier athletics event of the year.

A galaxy of stars are set to descend on London Stadium in the British capital, led by Usain Bolt as the incomparable Jamaican sprinter winds down a career that includes 11 world titles. Two of his individual gold medal performances were propelled by world records, his still-standing marks of 9.58 in the 100m and 19.19 in the 200m set at the 2009 World Championships in Berlin, both of which were rewarded with a world record bonus of US$ 100,000, presented with the support of two of the IAAF’s partners: TDK (for the men’s events) and Toyota (for the women’s events).

Once again, the IAAF is proud to present its World Record Programme at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 where athletes achieving a world record will be eligible* for a special World Record Award of US$ 100,000 offered by TDK and Toyota.

The performance must be an improvement on the existing IAAF World Record. Performances which equal the existing IAAF World Record will not be eligible for a World Record Award.

The last world record award to be presented with a bonus was Ashton Eaton’s 9045-point tally in the decathlon at the World Championships in Beijing two years ago.

TDK’s involvement with the IAAF World Championships goes beyond the world record award as the Japanese electronics company has been the main bib sponsor (men’s events) for all 15 previous editions and will maintain that involvement in London.

Another Japanese company – Toyota Motor Corporation – has offered the same sponsorship package for the women athletes since becoming an IAAF partner in 2003 ahead of the World Championships that year in Paris.



More than 7 million dollars on offer in London
A total of US$ 7,344,000 in prize money will be paid* by the IAAF in London as follows:

Individual Events
Gold: US$ 60,000
Silver: US$ 30,000
Bronze: US$ 20,000
fourth place: US$ 15,000
fifth place: US$ 10,000
sixth place: US$ 6000
seventh place: US$ 5000
eighth place: US$ 4000

Relays (per team)
Gold: US$ 80,000
Silver: US$ 40,000
Bronze: US$ 20,000
fourth place: US$ 16,000
fifth place: US$ 12,000
sixth place: US$ 8000
seventh place: US$ 6000
eighth place: US$ 4000

* The payment of prize money and bonuses is dependent upon the usual ratification process, including athletes clearing the relevant anti-doping procedures.