In the vibrant streets of Boston, amidst the rhythmic pounding of feet on pavement, the 2024 Boston Marathon unfolded with moments of unparalleled athleticism and historic achievement. As participants pushed their limits throughout the day, the race witnessed the crowning of champions who left an indelible mark on Boylston Street.

Obiri Retains Crown, Lemma Dominates Men’s Field

Kenya’s Hellen Obiri showcased her marathon prowess once again, clinching her second consecutive victory in the women’s race with a formidable finish time of 2:22:37. Her feat, reminiscent of the legendary Catherine Ndereba, marks a significant milestone in marathon history. In a breathtaking display of determination, Obiri surged ahead in the final stretch, leaving her competitors trailing behind.

Embed from Getty Images

On the men’s side, Ethiopia’s Sisay Lemma emerged as a dominant force, leading the pack from start to finish and sealing his victory with an impressive time of 2:06:17. Despite facing formidable competition, Lemma maintained his lead, securing a decisive win and etching his name in Boston Marathon lore.

Embed from Getty Images

Wheelchair Events Witness Remarkable Triumphs

In the women’s wheelchair race, Eden Rainbow-Cooper of Great Britain made history by becoming the first British woman to triumph in the division, crossing the finish line with a commendable time of 1:35:11. Meanwhile, Marcel Hug of Switzerland reaffirmed his status as a wheelchair racing legend, claiming his seventh Boston Marathon title and setting a new course record with a stunning finish time of 1:15:33.

Embed from Getty Images

Celebrating Past Champions and Setting New Records

Reflecting on past triumphs, the 127th Boston Marathon saw Kenya’s Evans Chebet and Hellen Obiri emerge victorious in 2023, continuing a legacy of excellence on the storied course. Chebet’s remarkable time of 2:05:54 and Obiri’s impressive finish at 2:21:38 underscored their unparalleled skill and determination.

Embed from Getty Images

As the marathon continues to captivate audiences worldwide, records continue to be shattered, with Geoffrey Mutai and Buzunesh Deba holding the fastest times in the men’s and women’s races, respectively. Their remarkable achievements serve as inspiration for future generations of marathoners, pushing the boundaries of human potential with each stride.

Recognizing Achievement

Beyond the thrill of victory, the Boston Marathon rewards its champions with well-deserved prizes, with winners in the men’s and women’s races receiving $150,000 each. Celebrating the dedication and perseverance of all participants, the marathon honors the spirit of sportsmanship and camaraderie that define this iconic event.

The award winning Tarkine Trail Devil. Learn more at

As the sun sets on another memorable chapter in marathon history, the legacy of the Boston Marathon endures, inspiring athletes around the world to chase their dreams and push beyond their limits. In Boston, where every step is a testament to the human spirit, the marathon remains a beacon of hope and triumph for generations to come.